Who we are

Our trustees and committee members are volunteers that live, or work, in Oxford, supported by one part-time coordinator.

Trustees are elected at our Annual General Meeting each November. We are always keen to hear from people who might like to become more involved. 


Alison Hill

A former public health doctor, Alison wove cycling into her professional life by bringing together research and data about the benefits of active travel on health and wellbeing. She was on the board of Cycling England for its duration and chairs The Bikeability Trust. She was nominated as one of Cycling UK’s 100 women in cycling in 2019.

Honorary Secretary

Kathryn McNicoll

Kathryn plays a key role in our community engagement and outreach activities, by heading-up Cyclox stalls at various festivals and street markets around Oxford during the course of the year. She has been volunteering with Cyclox since 2014. Kathryn is managing the allocation of donated bikes for the Bikes for Keyworkers project. 


Sara Hallas

Sara is a Bikeability instructor predominately delivering lessons with The Windrush Bike Project in Witney, alongside volunteering in their workshop in the hopes of becoming a fully-fledged bike mechanic. Sara helps run sessions at Wheels for All Oxford, and other ther than utility cycling, Sara enjoys racing in the local muddy Cyclocross league as a member of Oxonian CC.

Membership secretary

Steve Unwin

Steve has been riding bikes for leisure, sport, commuting and urban transport since childhood and was an early adopter of an electric assisted bike – of which he is a keen advocate. Steve helps run Wheels for All, a local project providing inclusive cycling facilities in Oxford.

Events Co-ordinator

Andy Chivers

Andy was a GP in Jericho until retiring in 2016. He has been a committee member since 2009 and undertook the role of Membership Secretary for ten years. Andy chairs the Attractive and Healthy Streets sub-committee, writes our monthly newsletter and helps to run stalls at various local events. 

part-time Co-ordinator

Becci Curtis

Having never cycled before moving to Oxford, Becci was won over by the Bike to Work scheme in 2013 and has never looked back. A keen sport cyclist, Becci was the Women’s Officer for the Cowley Road Condors from 2017-19. Day-to-day, she can be found commuting with yoga-mat filled panniers. 

Jake Backus

Jake is Managing Director of Empathy Sustainability and the project lead for OxAir who are measuring air quality in Oxford from a human perspective (including cycling)! Jake is the founder of Oxfordshire Youth Cycling, a L2 British Cycling Coach and founder of the bike-friendly Common Ground Café.

Elise Benjamin

Elise is a lifelong cyclist and has been car-less since 1993. She was a City Councillor for 15 years, Planning Chair, and a cycling Lord Mayor. A community activist since the early 80’s, she was on Broken Spoke board member for 6 years before joining the Cyclox committee. She currently owns 4.5 bikes.

Ian Callaghan

Ian is a former Quantity Surveyor, wannabe urban designer, primary school teacher and cycle-bus conductor. A mountain biker who converted to utility cycling on moving to London from Yorkshire, he occasionally answers the call of the hills. Ian would like to see the transformation of cycle infrastructure (Going Dutch) to provide equality of access from ages 8 to 80. Ian chairs the Safe Connected Cycle Networks sub-committee.

James Dawton

James has been cycling since he was a teenager, largely as a utility cyclist and cycle tourer. He has been involved in cycle campaigning since the 1980s, first with CTC and Cycling UK, and later, with Cyclox. James feels that constructing good quality infrastructure is important to get more people cycling. Outside of Cyclox, he helps run the Oxford City group of Cycling UK.

Simon Hunt

Simon has been pushing the pedals, purely for everyday, utility cycling, from age 8. He was Cyclox Chair from 2013-2018 and has plenty of revs still left in him! Simon was central to the development of the Claudia Charter, and a key personal aim is to see the vision for safe cycling laid out by the charter become a reality. He regularly attends meetings between Cyclox and the City and County Councils Highway Maintenance overseers.

Jonny Ives

A journalist by trade and a roadie by inclination, Jonny lives in Headington Quarry and is an advocate for active transport, liveable communities, and the concept of the cargo bike as an essential element of urban life. Currently focused on the campaign for low-traffic neighbourhoods and delivering the daily bike bus safely to Windmill School.

James McNicoll

James coordinates our responses to consultations for new developments. James is a retired engineer. Having worked in the design and construction industry all his professional life, including a spell in the Netherlands, he understands the world of infrastructure, design, codes and standards. Coming to grips with the challenges of urban design and the place of cycling in it, is a new challenge for him. 

Lonie Sebagh

Lonie was recruited through the Oxford Hub Young Trustee Programme. A non-avid cyclist exhausted at the sight of a hill and scared of any car or double-decker bus that comes too close, she was paired up with Cyclox in order to bring a new perspective and help make cycling safer and more enjoyable in Oxford. Lonie is a fourth-year PhD student in Cyber Security at the University of Oxford.

Graham Smith

Graham formerly lectured in Architecture and Urban Design at Oxford Brookes and co-authored the influential manual Responsive Environments. He has a good knowledge of European practice in sustainable and active transport and in urban development. He was a Councillor for CTC/CyclingUK for six years, and helped realign policy regarding segregated cycling provisions being an objective.